The Secret to Weight Loss

September 5, 2012 — 10 Comments

Today might just be the day that you learn the secret to weight loss.

Losing weight is one of those thoughts that everyone has pondered from time to time. If you haven’t yet then don’t worry. I promise you it will come. Amazingly, with so many people wanting the same thing it really makes you wonder why it’s so difficult to do, and why so many people truly struggle with the concept.

The answer is actually quite easy. You’re doing it wrong.

If you ask anyone who has been successful with healthy weight loss (pronounced: slow and steady) they will most likely agree with me when I say that most people struggle with weight loss because they don’t enjoy it!

It’s really not your fault though. I mean, you discover that you want to lose weight so what do you do? You seek advice and bam – suddenly you’re being forced to give up carbohydrates, fats, or even worse, protein. These are macronutrients that your body needs to perform its daily functions.

If you’re on a low fat diet and you start acting like my terribly disobedient German short-haired pointer (dog) when you see a bag of Ruffles (no offense to Ruffles), that’s your body telling you that it needs fat. I’m not saying that you should go feast on a king-size bag of potato chips to conquer the craving, but simply try to incorporate more healthy, mono- and polyunsaturated fats into your diet.

The problem with most fad diets is that they tell you to give up certain things, which sets you up for failure on a nutritional level, but also psychologically. Now, I’m no psychiatrist but as soon as you tell me I can’t have something – that’s when I really want it. Like, so bad. Like, now. There has to be some sort of magical psycho- neurological business going on at that time.

If you’re struggling both nutritionally and psychologically with your weight loss effort then how are you ever going to slim down to fit into those old favourite jeans? You must change your approach.

I don’t like fad diets. I never have and never will. I can admit that I’ve tried them, but after years of thinking that it was my fault I finally realized that it wasn’t. I was doing exactly what I was told and for some reason it just wasn’t working. So instead of blaming myself I took the egotistical approach of “It’s not me, it’s you,” and screwed the diets (figuratively, of course).

That was the best weight loss decision I ever made.

That decision led me to the discovery of the secret to weight loss: enjoyment. I had to enjoy the workouts I was doing at the gym. That is why I circuit train for a cardiovascular workout because I would honestly never go to the gym if I had to run on the treadmill for 30 minutes straight.

I had to enjoy the way I ate less. Instead of starving myself like most people try; I ate less but more often. If I continued to starve myself then I would feast hard come the end of the day because that is where starving had got me all along.

Tailor your plan to what works for you.

My tricks may not work for everyone. Everyone is different. When it comes to the concept of weight loss, though, it is quite black and white. You will lose weight if you burn more calories than you consume. It is as simple as that. However, most people cannot commit to this idea because they lack a sense of consistency which sprouts from the very enjoyment of the process. The more you enjoy something, the longer you will do it.

Enjoy!

P.S. Seriously, no offense to Ruffles.

P.P.S. Please comment and let me know what you think!

10 responses to The Secret to Weight Loss

  1. 

    You hit the nail right on the head. Eating healthy and losing weight steadily has never been a “fad diet” because it isn’t a quick fix; it’s a lifestyle choice. These types of eating plans don’t work for me because, like you, once someone says I can’t have something, I began to crave it around the clock. Incorporating little “splurges” into my diet–like dark chocolate or a glass of wine–takes away the temptation. For me, moderation is key.

    • 

      It’s so true and it’s amazing how many people still struggle with the concept. They are looking for quick fixes I guess. Thanks for reading!

  2. 

    Enjoyment is so crucial when trying to lose weight. If you don’t enjoy it you won’t stick to it, and eventually you will give up….. I am trying to find new exercise regimes that keep me excited—I get bored very easily of the exercise DVD’s I have, even if it’s Zumba!

  3. 

    Very well put. It was described to me as not creating a negative relationship with food because just like being told not to date someone you will only want it more.

  4. 

    Too true! It’s so much harder to maintain a strict diet than it is to just continually try and incorporate new and varied healthy exercises or foods. I always tell my patients to try healthy alternatives to the biggest obstacle to their weight loss first, like going from drinking soda to flavored water to tea to plain water.

    Nice post!

    • 

      Thank you! I’m glad we share similar ideas. It’s a lot easier, and typically more successful, to take baby steps as you explained. Thanks for reading.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Eating Out Without Expanding Your Waistline | So Healthy Nutrition - November 5, 2012

    […] skip out on your next social get-together. The secret to weight loss is enjoyment and not resenting yourself. Learn these few tips so that you can enjoy your night out […]

  2. Finding the Right Foods: Healthy AND Delicious « So Healthy Nutrition - January 30, 2014

    […] believe that the key to a successful fat loss plan is consistency, particularly with the food you eat. If your food doesn’t taste good, chances are […]

Leave a Reply

