This One’s For the Ladies

September 21, 2012 — 12 Comments

The other day I had a conversation with a girl that I know. We exchanged tales of all the lovely things going on in our lives from work to school, to past-time activities. You know, all of the great small talk stuff. She had told me how she had recently become addicted to working out at her gym, to which I was quite impressed (we should all be impressed). Good for her. What wasn’t good, though, were the foul plague-like words that came from her mouth next.

“I don’t want to lift heavier weights because I’m afraid I’ll get too bulky.”

Let’s end the story there so that I can elaborate on this mentality that women have when it comes to weight training. It irks me. Maybe I can even debunk a couple myths associated with the stigma.

First things first…

Ladies, you do not have to be afraid of lifting heavy weights.

You will not get bulky. You will not turn green and rampage the streets of Toronto.

It actually amazes me how many women I know that refuse to lift a significant weight because they are afraid they will get massive arms, or a massive chest and back. It is possible, but not without severe training and diet plans, or possibly a little testosterone boost. If you’re a casual exerciser (3 or less times per week) then you have nothing to worry about.

In fact, if your goal is to lose weight and get “toned,” I would actually recommend that you definitely lift some heavier weights. Like, right now. It has been proven several times that weight training is one of the most efficient ways to lose fat.

Here’s some basic knowledge for you. When you go to the gym and hop on a treadmill to burn 300 calories (which is far from accurate just FYI) and you leave, you’ve accomplished just that. You burned X amount of calories while being at the gym.

When you go to the gym and crank out some circuit training (consecutive exercises with little rest) with decent weight, you’re getting resistance training plus a cardiovascular workout. Talk about killing two birds with one stone. Pretty cool, huh?

The coolest part is that the resistance training can actually increase your metabolism for up to 48 hours after you workout. And guess what…

An increase in metabolism = an increase in calorie burn.

So you’re really getting a lot more bang for your buck. And it’s actually quite fun. Each time you do it you aim for performing one more rep, increasing the weight a little bit, or even doing it in a quicker time. That way you know you’re making progress. Get it?

I haven’t really explained why yet, so you’re probably looking at this with a big “so what.” The fact is simple.

You won’t become the next Incredible Hulk because you lack the testosterone to do so.

Testosterone is the main muscle building hormone in the body, and because women produce significantly less levels of it, they cannot put on muscle mass as easily as men.

Also, to become the bulky beast you fear, you would have to purposefully consume a lot more calories than you need to. I’m not talking over-indulge a little here, and there. Like legit, stuff your face full of protein whenever you can, workout every day, and you maybe even need the addition of supplements. Getting “jacked” isn’t easy stuff. Even for men.

I’m not trying to persuade you into lifting heavy weights. I believe strongly in doing what makes you happy. If you thoroughly enjoy the cardio blast you get from a treadmill, elliptical, and stair master, then please continue to work hard on them.

I’m merely trying to state that women don’t need to be afraid of lifting heavy. If you try it, and end up enjoying it, that once long road to a flat belly and voluptuous tush might be just around the corner. Just saying.

12 responses to This One’s For the Ladies

  1. 

    I was a power lifter in HS. I was actually really good and went to state competitions many times. I had a por trainer though who didn’t know how to train a female and I bulked up! All my friends thought I had gained a lot weight which on my small frame was very noticeable. I enjoy your post because I can relate to how females feel. However, any suggestions on a middle ground type of workout? How do you know when too much is too much?

    • 

      All you will need is yourself, and a mirror. Workout however many times makes you happy. Enjoy it. If you notice yourself getting bigger than you’d like just cut back. It will be quite difficult to though, unless you’re really trying to put on mass. If you absolutely love working out, maybe try 3 strength training days, and then any other days you want to still go at it leave for conditioning or lighter lifts.

  2. 

    Really informative post! I admit that I also am weary of weights too, so reading this post helped debunk some myths. I personally prefer cardio (aerobics, walking etc), but I back in university I used to do a cardio class that ended with weight training and I did find that I lost weight when in that class!

    Btw—are you from TO? Your Freshly Pressed post where you mentioned Toronto Maple Leafs made me think you were. If so–yay! I don’t need to go far when I need personal fitness help! 🙂

    • 

      I’m glad you found this post helpful! I was gunning for that response haha. And yes, I am from TO. Well, just outside in Mississauga. Thanks for the read!

  3. 

    My personal trainer debunked thatch for me very early o in working him him. I lift pretty heavy weights and have even started to do some weight lifting moves vs just bench pressing and it is sooo motivating! I’ve lost almost 10% in body fat since January and lost 7 inches in my hips alone. Could not have done it without all the ‘heavy lifting.’ You hit the nail on the head!

  4. 

    Ha – I have said no to lifting weights before from fear of bulking up. I have learned since then and incorporate weights into my routine. Great post, very informative! Inspired to hit the gym when I get off work!!

    • 

      It’s amazing how many say no to the exact same thing, for the exact same reason. That’s what sparked my post idea. Have you noticed a big difference since incorporating weights?

      Thanks for reading!

      • 

        Well, I definitely have not turned into a female body builder type body! haha. I do feel more toned but overall I feel healthy!

      • 

        Good for you. I hope everything continues to work out for you and your health. Thanks again for reading. Hopefully I can post something again that you can relate to.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. SoHealthy Nutrition - November 27, 2012

    […] puts an emphasis on healthy eating, but it also covers a variety of health-related topics such as women who fear to lift heavy weight, how stress effects weight gain, and even simple, delicious recipes like my scrumptious cumin […]

  2. Protein Consumption and Muscle Growth | So Healthy Nutrition - January 17, 2013

    […] P.S. Women, don’t be afraid to follow this advice as well. Building muscle takes a ton of work and will not happen overnight. You will not get “bulky.” Read more about that here. […]

Leave a Reply

