So Healthy Food: Baby Back Ribs

December 14, 2012 — Leave a comment

Blog Image30Last week I decided to do something awesome. I bought baby back ribs. At first I didn’t really want to try them because I’m not a huge fan of ribs, but then I remembered something crucial – I had never made my own. Things always taste better when I make them. Or so I think…

So I tossed the ribs in my basket, checked out, and pranced mischievously all the way home, drawing up concoctions in my head. Some ideas were great. Some were not.

Let me tell you this, though. My ribs turned out fantastically. I am not even being remotely biased. I can honestly say these were the best ribs I’ve ever had – hands down. It’s just a bonus that they just so happened to be something I made. That’s all.

But anyways, enough of my gloating! I’m sure you’re dying to get the how! Well, my friends, it looks a little like this…

Baby back ribs (1 rack)

1 whole onion

170oz tomato sauce (preferably homemade, but doesn’t have to be)

Salt and pepper (to taste)

Garlic (3 cloves)

Basil (to taste)

I started off by pulling out the Crockpot and dusting it off. It’s crazy how much dust accumulates underneath my counter. However after an excellent wipe-down it was good to go.

Chop up your onion and layer it on the bottom of your Crockpot. If you know of any tricks to avoid crying like a little baby while cutting onions, I suggest you do them. I was not so fortunate. Once done you can chop/mince your garlic right on top of the onion. It should already smell pretty grand.

Sprinkle as much salt and pepper over your ribs as you’d like.

Next, cut your ribs up into groups of about 2-3 so that they’ll all fit easily into the pot. Place them in. Don’t forget to wash your hands!

Pour your tomato sauce evenly over the ribs and sprinkle with as much basil as you’d like. Put your Crockpot to cook for 6 hours and you have yourself a delicious meal in the making. It’s that easy. I must warn you though. Your house will smell wonderful. Wonderful in a tough, manly way, that is.

Let me know if you try them, and give your honest opinion on what you think.

Do you have a great way of cooking ribs?

Follow Shane on TwitterLike Shane on Facebook.

If you enjoy this article and would like to receive other similar articles directly to your email inbox please make sure to subscribe to So Healthy Nutrition.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

