The Perfectly Rare Roast

May 30, 2013 — Leave a comment

IMG_20130117_152914

I tried a new recipe a while back. It turned out so ridiculously good that I wanted to post it for all of you right away but never found the time. But fear not, because time is something I now have – for a few minutes tonight while I write this post at least.

This recipe is for a roast. It can be any beef roast of any size. You’ll just have to change the timing a little bit, which I will get into in just a second.

If you’re like me then you love your beef pretty rare. Nothing quite hits the spot like a medium rare to rare prime rib, that’s for sure. Prime rib can often be expensive, so I went on a search to find a way to cook any roast and have it come out as delicious as our supreme cut.

After failing many, many times I stumbled upon a method that I found very odd but the directions said to “trust the science.” Me, being naïve, thought it’d be a great idea to trust the science. And I did. And I am so glad I did.

When you first read this you may think I am crazy, but I am telling you that it actually works. The picture I used for this post is my actual roast.

You want to first start by rubbing the roast down with all the spices you want. This time around I was pretty basic and simply used garlic, pepper, herbs, and a little bit of salt. Then use a sharp knife to cut several ½ inch slits all the way around.

Preheat the oven to as high as most ovens go, around 500 degrees Celsius. You will only want to cook the roast at this temperature for 7 minutes per pound of roast. My roast for the picture was only 2 pounds, so I had it cook at 500 degrees for 14 minutes.

Once the time is up at the optimal temperature you’ll need to shut the oven completely off. Yes, that’s right. Turn your oven dial all the way off and let the roast sit in there for 2 hours. Please, please, please do not open the oven door during this time. The more you open the door and let the heat out, the more you risk ruining your perfectly rare roast.

I didn’t believe this method would work the first time I read it, but I gave it a whirl and sure enough it did exactly what it promised.

Do you have any special “tricks” you like to use to make the perfect roast?

Follow Shane on TwitterLike Shane on Facebook.

If you enjoy this article and would like to receive other similar articles directly to your email inbox please make sure to subscribe to So Healthy Nutrition.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

